arrow_upward
Want to learn to program, how long did it take you to learn?
Hey guys,

As the title says, thinking about picking up a programming language, specifically python.
This is more a question for those who were self taught, or learned informally. But wanted to get a general idea of the time I would need to invest to learn.

What programming language did you learn? How long did it take you, and what proficiency did you attain?

If you'd like to add a general age group, and general education level, I'd also appreciate it. But obviously don't mention it if you'd prefer not to.

it's better you have an idea of what you want to do and decide what languages to learn based on that

but it took me about a year to become proficient (a point where I didn't have to google EVERYTHING) in ruby/java/python

[+] 1 user Likes josojin's post
Thanks Joso, quick follow up question. Really roughly how many hours was that? a couple per day/week/full time?

probably 20~ish hours a week

really varied based on if i had a project i was working on, sometimes id just fiddle with something for less than an hour a day, sometimes i'd do 5+ a day

I think when learning to code, the main issue is pushing through the difficult parts. I've seen so many people start with great intentions, but give up when things get complicated or less straightforward. If you want to learn you have to dedicate some serious time and mental energy.

It took me about a year to learn C++/Qt to the point where I was able to create larger projects on my own. Pure C++ will take longer and it will definitely take even longer until you are really good. But fortunately there are good forums.